Houserules

These are house rules pertaining specifically to gameplay including alterations to specific class features offered by various character classes.

Gameplay

  • Critical Fumbles: If on any ability check, skill check, or attack roll you should role a natural “1” on your d20, you should immediately roll a 50-50 saving throw. On a roll of a “10” or above, the “1” result of your original d20 roll results in a mere miss (albeit a potentially hilarious one.) On the result of a 9 or less on your 50-50 saving throw, you critically fumble, and something above and beyond mere failure occurs at the discretion of the DM and dependent upon the nature of what it was your character was trying to attempt. Your turn is always ended after a critical fumble.

Example: Klysef is a rogue hiding on the stairs when a brawl breaks out in the barroom below. Klysef decides he will toss a dagger at one of the brutes making mayhem upon his allies. His player rolls a natural “1.” His player immediately rerolls his d20: “6”. Since the result is below “10” on his d20 reroll, Klysef has critically fumbled. The DM determines that Klysef, in his haste, loses his footing on a loose stair, drops his dagger, and tumbles down the stairs resulting in 1 damage, and he is prone. His turn ends, disregarding his remaining bonus action and movement.

  • Firing into melee: If targeting any creature with another creature adjacent to it, the target has cover proportional to the creature next to which it is adjacent. This is meant to represent the ducking, dodging, parrying, and other sorts of fluid motion that occur in melee combat.

Example: Endran Duskleaf is attempting to fire an arrow at the orc that is currently pummeling his wizard friend. However, because the orc and his ally are adjacent to one another, it assumed that they are not merely standing around waiting for their own initiative to come up, and instead are engaged in a struggle for their own respective survivals. As such, it’s hard for Endran to get a clear shot to his orc target (other potential circumstances notwithstanding), and the target is granted half-cover as a result of the wizard constantly getting in the way.

Class Features

Druid

  • Wild-Shape: In order to change into an animal, you must exert some of your life force in a short ritual to complete the change. When changing into an animal, you follow the rules as normal. Once you have Wild-Shaped, you have two choices: you may either revert back to your typical form or change into a different animal. If you change into a different animal, you keep your current HP total (from animal to animal) and so on until you revert. If you revert, you follow the rules as normal, but must keep a tally of your remaining hit points from your first transformation. If you choose, you may turn back into the same creature at any time and keep the hit points remaining from your previous transformation. If you want to change into a different creature, you must wait 1 minute to do so (30 seconds for Circle of the Moon Druids), and use the new creatures hit point total.

Example1: Varis Bear-Friend turns into a Bear. He is reduced, in bear-form, to 3 hit points. In obvious trouble, he decides that he needs to make a quick getaway while still wild-shaped. He turns into a crane and flies off with 3 remaining hit points. If he reverts to human, he will have the hit points remaining from his normal form.

Example 2: Hobart the Naked turns into a Bear. He is reduced, in bear-form, to 3 hit points. Hobart decides to revert to human form so that he can cast a spell. He does so. Now that he is in human form, he can either turn back into the same Bear at 3 hit points OR he can wait for 1 minute (he is a Circle of the Land Druid) to transform into something else. He opts to wait for 1 minute. He then turns into a Panther with full HP and rejoins the melee at that time. Naked.

  • Reduced to 0 hit points while in Wild Shape: if reduced to 0 hit points while in animal form, the Druid follows rules as found in the PHB. However, as an addendum, the Druid loses their ability to Wild Shape again until they are able to take an extended rest.

Ranger

  • Controlling your beast companion: it is a bonus action, rather than an action, to invoke your companion to either dash or make an attack. Your beast companion also gains the Instinct feature:

Instinct: At the beginning of combat, your beast companion rolls a separate initiative from yours. If on any turn you should choose NOT to spend a bonus action in order to instruct your beast companion to either attack or dash, on your beast companion’s following initiative round, it may use its animal instinct to attack the nearest hostile target within reach OR it can use its animal instinct to move to within reach of the nearest hostile target (up to your beast companion’s movement speed). It may not use its animal instinct to use any special attacks (such as multi-attacks) or other features, though if it has multiple simple attack options, it may choose between them.

Example 1: Ivan Bartok decides on his turn to attack an enemy using his bow, but fearing that he may be flanked by an oncoming bugbear, he opts to use his bonus action to divert his faithful tiger companion, Franzwig, to attack a lurking goblin on his flank using his multi-attack option. Franzwig is unable to act on his own initiative.

Example 2: Ivan decides in this round to drop his bow (no action), draw his shortsword (a free interaction with an object), and draw his second shortsword as he attacks the bugbear that’s pinning him down. He misses. He opts to spend his bonus action to swing again using his off-hand weapon. Because he has spent his bonus action for this round on his own initiative, he is unable to command Franzwig to act. Franzwig, on his own initiative, will automatically attack the goblin he attacked in the last round with at bite attack (since he cannot use his dual-claw multi-attack as an instinct.)

Warlock

  • Pact of the Blade: Along with all of your normal features for taking the Pact of the Blade, you also gain proficiency Medium Armor. If you are wielding an Arcane Focus, your blade extends out from that. If not, the blade materializes from a suitable piece of material nearby or that you are carrying (a crowbar, for example). Dropping your Focus or the object from which your blade is emanating causes the blade to retreat into the object.

Home Page

Houserules

Adventures in the World of a Few mafelton